Sharad Sharma

Co‑Founder, iSPIRT Foundation
Sharad is a passionate evangelist for developing technology product businesses and nurturing the supporting ecosystem in India. He is part of the Governing Council and Co-Founder of iSPIRT (Indian Software Product Industry RoundTable) Foundation, a non-profit technology think tank devoted to making India a product nation. iSPIRT builds four types of public goods — technology building blocks (aka India Stack), startup-friendly policies and market access programs such as M&A Connect and Playbooks that codify scarce tacit knowledge for product entrepreneurs of India.
Sharad has three decades of experience in the internet, enterprise software, and digital infrastructure markets and is a prominent voice in India’s technology ecosystem. His personal mantra is to lead big and small companies through orbit change. Previously, he was the CEO of Yahoo! India R&D and was responsible for emerging markets engineering and several key global products. Sharad also co-founded Teltier Technologies Inc., a wireless infrastructure startup, now part of CISCO, and is an active technology angel investor with over two dozen investments. In addition, he was instrumental in the success of India’s first IP focussed fund, India Innovation Fund.
Sharad has held several senior R&D executive positions with leading technology companies, including VERITAS Software, Symantec, Lucent Technologies, and AT&T. Zinnov felicitated him with the R&D Visionary Award in 2008 for his work on creating a strong MNC R&D footprint in India. Earlier, he chaired NASSCOM Product Forum in its formative years and was a Member of the NASSCOM Executive Council from 2009 to 2013.
Sharad is a Member of SEBI’s Financial and Regulatory Technology Committee. He has also served on RBI’s UK Sinha MSME Committee and National Digital Payments Committee. He got interested in kernel software development while doing his Electrical Engineering at Delhi College of Engineering. He started India’s first Student Minicomputer Club in 1984 and served as the Chairperson of the IEEE Student Chapter.